Posted by: Rick | Friday, April 17, 2009

Teabaggers at the Crossroads

Michelle Malkin asks:

Hey, how about an analysis of the Tax Day Tea Party movement that doesn’t involve sexual jokes, Beavis & Butthead-style guffawing, or D-list allegations of RAAAAACISM?

To which the logical response is: Why?  But that’s kind of mean, and I’m better than that. Wingnuts are people, too!

Scary thought: Could teabaggers actually be on to something? They may act crazy, but they’re sentient beings, more or less. Don’t I owe it to myself to find out what makes them tick?

I guess I should probably just read Atlas Shrugged, but I don’t have that kind of time. Luckily, Malkin herself provides me with the Cliff-i-est of Cliff notes:

What resonated on Tax Day were non-partisan calls to roll back pork, hold the line on taxing and spending, end the endless government bailouts, and stop the congressional steamrollers who have pushed through mountains of legislation without deliberation. . . . It’s the three T’s, stupid: Too Many Taxes, Trillions in Debt, and Transparency.

The GOP path to reclaiming power lies with candidates who can make a credible case that they will support and defend fiscal responsibility.  [Emphasis added]

Well, as jaded women say after another lousy date: I shaved my legs for this? I’ve listenened to Republican politicians rail against “taxing and spending” for thirty years.  They’re professional bullshitters, and they don’t need anyone to tell them how to spread the manure.  But here’s what they do need:

They need someone to tell them what  “spending”  to cut.

Do this, teabaggers, and be taken seriously.  Do it not, and remain a punchline.

Categories

