Posted by: Rick | Monday, March 8, 2010

“In Bed With The Insurance Companies”

Is that how Democrats plan to characterize the upcoming Republican campaign to repeal healthcare reform?  President Obama seems to be laying the groundwork for such a strategy:

“How much higher do premiums have to rise before we do something about it?” Obama asked an enthusiastic, mostly young audience [today] at Arcadia University in Glenside, Penn.

Obama argued that his healthcare proposal trumped politics.

“I don’t know how passing healthcare will play politically, but I do know that it’s the right thing to do,” he said.  “If you share that belief, I want you to stand with me and fight with me. And I ask you to help us get us over the finish line these next few weeks.

For the record, here’s the official Obstructionist line:

Senate Republicans will do everything they can to block health care legislation until it finally passes, and promise to repeal it on the campaign trail this fall, the GOP’s Senate campaign chief told reporters today.

[John] Cornyn, chairman of the National Republican Senatorial Committee, said Democrats may want to pass the measure and move on, but the GOP will keep pressing at it to “make sure that health care is the No. 1 issue that the election is won or lost by” in the fall.

I guess Republicans think this will fire up the teabaggers, and they’re undoubtedly right.  (I just hope nobody gets killed on the campaign trail.)  But I’m not sure the healthcare fear card will be effective with sane voters after the legislation is passed and the world doesn’t come to an end.

And If I were a politician, I’d much rather be on the positive side of this issue.  At least then I wouldn’t have to make my case buns up kneeling from the crowded pantry of some obscenely rich insurance executive.

Categories

