Posted by: Rick | Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Romney Endorses Gingrich

FOX — Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney shocked supporters today by endorsing Newt Gingrich, praising the former House Speaker as “a stand-up guy” and “a staunch defender of free enterprise.”

Romney said he was endorsing Gingrich as a “private citizen” and that his own presidential campaign would continue.

“This endorsement is about jobs,” said Romney, in an exclusive interview with Steve Doocy. “I looked at the Speaker’s tax proposal and realized that under his plan, job creators get to keep all their money instead of just 85% of it. Last year, for example, under the Gingrich plan, I would have taken home my full $20,000,000 in carried interest instead of a paltry $17,220,000. Imagine how many more jobs I could have created with that extra cash.”

Under the Gingrich plan, taxes on capital gains would be reduced to zero.

Asked if there wasn’t an inherent contradiction in endorsing one’s opponent, Romney was firm.

“Absolutely not,” he said. “As a wealthy job creator, it would be unseemly for me to propose eliminating my own tax burden, even though I know it’s the right thing to do for the poor. That’s the unfortunate nature of politics.”

Romney isn’t worried that his endorsement of Gingrich will bolster charges that he’s a “flip-flopper”.

“This election isn’t about Mitt Romney,” he said. “If I didn’t want to be president so bad I can taste it, I’d vote for Newt Gingrich in a heartbeat, even though he’s a dangerous hypocrite. I trust that voters are smart enough to do what’s best for themselves and for America. Whatever that is.”

Categories

