Posted by: Rick | Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Romney’s Lies: Lie #2

Romney Lie Number Two:

I don’t remember that incident and I’ll tell you I certainly don’t believe that I, I can’t speak for other people of course, thought the fellow was homosexual. That was the furthest thing from my mind back in the 1960s, so that was not the case. But as to pranks that were played back then, I don’t remember them all, but again, high school days, if I did stupid things, why I’m afraid I got to say sorry for it.

The Washington Post asked Mitt Romney for the names of some people who could vouch for his youthful character. Romney complied, whereupon five prep school classmates independently confirmed that Romney recruited a state wrestling champion to hold a kid down while Romney cut off the kid’s hair. Romney’s claim that he doesn’t remember this incident is ludicrous.

This lie is Romney’s version of Bill Clinton’s “I never inhaled” lie. The difference is that while Clinton’s lie is comical, Romney’s lie is the lie of a sociopath.

Categories

