Posted by: Rick | Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Bad Day At Mitt Rock


New Jersey Governor Chris Christie went on Fox & Friends this morning and heaped praise on President Obama for his help in dealing with the destruction wrought by Hurricane Sandy. He also had the following exchange regarding one Willard M. Romney:

STEVE DOOCY: Over the last couple of months, you have appeared throughout the country, Governor, on behalf of Mitt Romney. We hear that perhaps Mr. Romney may do some storm-related events. Is there any possibility that Gov. Romney may go to New Jersey to tour some of the damage with you?

CHRIS CHRISTIE: I have no idea, nor am I the least bit concerned or interested. I’ve got a job to do here in New Jersey that’s much bigger than presidential politics and I could care less about any of that stuff. I have a job to do. I’ve got 2.4 million people out of power, I’ve got devastation on the shore, I’ve got floods in the northern part of my state. If you think right now I give a damn about presidential politics then you don’t know me.

Now Christie didn’t have to give Romney the back of his hand, but he did. From this I draw two conclusions: 1) Christie thinks Obama is going to win. 2) Christie is not afraid of Romney.

Christie respects Barack Obama. He does not respect Mitt Romney. Christie has taken the measure of the Mittwit, and he knows the man is weak. He knows that even if Romney is elected president, he’ll be a cardboard cut-out with no independent power base. He’ll be the puppet of Congressional Republicans.

There’s no downside for Christie in disrespecting Romney. No one will make him pay for it.

Categories

